Spring Cleaning, My story By: Dancing Chef Melissa


Spring cleaning is a way of life for me. I get to clear my home and my head. A great time that is scheduled every year to rid of anything unwanted, taking up space or time, manage clutter that you have built up in your physical home and also in our own minds. Spring cleaning is the best time to feel the fresh air all around and happily take in new beginnings.

At times we can feel so comfortable and secure about a path we are taking, yet nonetheless, an opportunity, a change, a misfortune, good luck, whatever it is, comes along and suddenly you are forced to make a decision. The path you once thought was, is not.

For the last 7 consecutive years, I have lived in the gorgeous country of Mexico. Mexico is full of diverse landscape, vibrant culture including style, food, along with modern and traditional lifestyles combined. I never thought I would leave, yet here I am just arriving back to the sunny state of Florida. I am feeling motivated and hyped for what is to come!

It was 2011, I clearly remember walking into my favorite coffee shop and reading the job post on the bulletin board that read, “Enthusiastic, energetic, motivated, English spoken? I need to find out more, sounds perfect for me!” Shortly afterwards I became part of an wonderful team and I had a new job title: Dancing Chef.

I was immediately sent to Salsa and Salsa Los Cabos to be trained by Dancing Chef Stephanie, now a great friend of mine, so that I could learn the show from beginning to end. I was instantly hooked! I was addicted to interacting with the guests, creating beautiful memories for couples, singles, families, children, grandparents, Americans, Canadians, Europeans, everyone and anyone. It didn’t matter who they were or where they were from, my goal each show was to make sure they left smiling! Who wouldn’t enjoy a job like this?

Having the opportunity to work in all three ports: Mazatlan, Los Cabos and Cozumel, as well as coordinating with our amazing team, I have gained a lot of knowledge, experience and the best part, friendships! I believe these are the factors in why I have learned to adapt quickly and see through the unpleasant or difficult times and remember to always move forward. As I do each annually, each beautiful Spring!

The most exciting chapter in my personal experience with Salsa and Salsa is happening now! I won’t give out too many details since I don’t enjoy spoiling surprises, all I can share with you, is that new adventures are to come for Salsa and Salsa by land as well as by sea!

Look out for the Dancing Chefs! Ole’!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

